void of course

the earth will swing us, as she goes

Posted by sailorstakewarning on January 2, 2011

what lips my lips have kissed & where & why
i have forgotten & what arms have lain
under my head til morning but the rain
is full of ghosts tonight that tap & sigh
upon the glass & listen for reply
& in my hear there stirs a quiet pain
for unremembered lads that not again
will turn to me at midnight with a cry

thus in the winter stands the lonely tree
nor knows what birds have vanished one by one
yet knows its boughs more silent than before
i cannot say what loves have come & gone
i only know that summer sang in me
a little while, that in me sings no more

~ edna st vincent millay

Leave a Reply

 
